Mr. Akin Implodes

This is an outstanding and humorous blog entry reflecting on the outlandish statement from Mr. Todd Akin this weekend.

Todd Akin Has Figured Out My Secret «.

In case you missed the hoo-haw:

Here’s the President’s response:

“Rape is rape,” the president said. “And the idea that we should be parsing, qualifying and slicing what qualifies as rape doesn’t make sense to me and doesn’t make sense to the American people…. What I think these comments do underscore is why we shouldn’t have a bunch of pols, the majority of whom are men, making health-care decisions on behalf of women.”

Mr. Akin has since apologized:

“Rape is an evil act. I used the wrong words in the wrong way and for that I apologize,” Akin says in the ad. “As the father of two daughters, I want tough justice for predators. I have a compassionate heart for the victims of sexual assault. I pray for them.”

I’m personally just glad to know my reproductive system is so advanced.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPDATE:  Mr. Akin will NOT leave the race for Governor.  He is in it to the end.

My favorite response?  “Imagine the anguish that the GOP must be feeling: being compelled by law to carry to term something that they really don’t want…”

 

3 responses to “Mr. Akin Implodes

  1. No, not really. Misspeaking is saying a name incorrectly or saying you’re in Chicago when you’re really in New York. He didn’t misspeak, he said what he was thinking and is backpedaling to save his skin. I can forgive him for being an idiot, but I don’t want him voting on any legislation that has to do with women’s health.

Leave a Reply

